skip navigation

Tackle

The Bartlett Raiders are passionate about upholding our football traditions. As a founding member of the BGYFL, the Raiders have a long tradition of producing competitive youth football teams. In 2016, all 10 Raider tackle football teams made the playoffs with a record 6 teams reaching the Super Bowl, the BGYFL state championship game. 

Success on the field starts with selecting great coaches for our youth athletes. The Raiders carefully select coaching staffs through a dedicated coaches committee.


Coaching decisions are usually made in May & June.  The deadline to apply for a head coaching position is April 1st.  Please submit an application to secretary@bartlettraiders.org to volunteer as a tackle or flag coach.  

Applications can be downloaded here.
We welcome your participation!

2017 Tackle Football Head Coaches

73lb (8U)

73 Black - Chris Puleo - cpuleo9710@gmail.com

73 White - Bill Strawn - strawnwilliam@aol.com

83lb (9U)

83 Gold - Mike Dakoff - mdakoff@icloud.com

83 Silver - Jeff Manimbo - jeff.manimbo@gmail.com

93lb (10U)

93 Gold - Ken Gillie - kengillie1@gmail.com

93 Silver - Dan Roden - danroden169@gmail.com

103lb (11U)

103 Gold - Dave Raap/ Ed Pomeroy - raap2020@gmail.com

103 Silver - Steve Eckelberry - stevee@wdsra.com

JV (12U)

JV Gold - John Bucaro - marinebucaro@msn.com

SR (Varsity)

SR Gold - Dan Young - dyoung0306@sbcglobal.net

SR Silver: Rick Kaneshiro - rtkaneshiro@comcast.net


2017 Raiders Jersey

NEW RULE 2017 - THE BGYFL HAS SWITCHED TO AGE BASED FOOTBALL

With the safety of our athletes as the primary focus, the BGYFL changed from a weight-based team selection model to an age-based system for determining teams.  Weight-based football, still used by many football leagues, places "younger-heavier" players on older teams and "older lighter" players on lower grade teams. Weight based football results in children playing against others up to two grades apart, instead of peers with comparable development physically, mentally and socially. 

Parents will still have the option of allowing their children to play up in an older level as a "younger heavier" as long as the coaches and parents feel it best for the athlete.  "Older lighters" playing down will no longer be allowed.  The Silver and AFC divisions were intended for athletes who may not be ready for the highest level of competition, because of physical development or skills.  

For more information on the age and average weights of each level of football in 2016, please refer to the attached BGYFL Weight Chart.